New Spring Reads! Mystery, Historical Fiction, Contemporary Fiction, & an Instant Pot Cookbook!




Forget all that spring cleaning, because I’ve got a new bouquet of books that are worth leaving your mop and broom behind for. So find your nearest lounge chair, a big glass of lemonade, and grab one of these titles. In the bunch there is contemporary fiction, mystery/thrillers, historical fiction, and even a surprise cookbook for new Instant Pot owners.  

Enjoy!


From the author of "Girl on the Train" comes this much anticipated follow up novel. This is another twisting and turning plot with multi-voiced narration, and will please Hawkins fans, and mystery lovers alike.




Authentic Holocaust survival story loosely based on the author's own family experiences, this book is staggeringly accurate and extremely moving. Fans of well written historical fiction do not miss this one.



Both heartbreaking and heartwarming, this story of finding love and joy again after a great loss will have you cheering for its lovable characters, and feeling renewed with hope. Great book club choice. 




Coined as "a mix of Beaches and  Thelma and Louise," this debut centers around the story of some small town women headed for the bright lights of NYC. Emotional and honest portrayal of life long female friendships. 




For fans of The Nightingale and Light Between the Oceans comes another historical fiction gem centered around WWII, but this time the high society of German Bavaria. Credible reflection of war, loss, survival, and love. 




You'll never look at your neighbors the same way again after this gripping page turner. A truly shocking thriller, plan to stay up late to finish this debut, probably in one sitting. Suspenseful doesn't even begin to describe this one.



Speaking of thrillers, hold on to your bookmarks folks, because you won't need one for this book. A spine tingling, goosebump producing plot will have you unable to stop reading this one. Gardner is a master mystery storyteller keeping you guessing until the very end. 


Set in Civil War time and touching on the issues of racial divide, love, and southern themes,  this haunting tale is told entirely through letters and diary entries. A clever mystery adds to the accurate historical portrayal of the times. 


Debut thriller set in the roasting Australian outback, this book starts with the savage murder of a mother and her young son. Follow the woman's childhood friend turned detective as he tries to find the killer. You won't believe who did it! 



Pulitzer Prize winner Strout is back with the complex cast of characters, and the many dramas of their lives. Lucy Barton (from My Name is Lucy Barton) even makes an appearance in this deeply moving book that covers themes of love, yearning, and family ties. 



Still wondering how to use your new electric pressure cooker? Start here! With gorgeous illustrations and step by step directions, clear how-to's on pressure cooking, and plenty of easy and delicious dinners, this is a must have for Instant Pot owners. 

1 comment:

Deborah Starling said...

I was so excited to find this great list of historical fiction! Thank you so much for sharing with your readers. I just read the first book in a fantastic series called, "Robbing the Pillars" by Kalen Vaughan Johnson. The main character, Scottish immigrant, James MacLaren has to flee Scotland with his family after killing a man and in hopes of a better life. They head to California during the Gold Rush and he takes on the very difficult job of mining. It's a phenomenal family saga and you get to watch the family grow and definitely become attached to them all! I can't recommend it enough. Perhaps it can be added to a future list. You can read a bit more about the book and the series here: http://kalenvaughanjohnson.com/
Thanks again!