Books You'll FALL Into! New Good Reads to Curl Up With.



If the air is turning crisp and cool where you are, and you’re ready to pull on a cozy sweater and curl up with a great book, I’ve got the perfect list for you. New contemporary fiction releases, one hilarious romp, some suspenseful thrillers to compliment Halloween season, a star studded memoir, and a few non-fiction surprises make up my latest book recommendations. Grab your pumpkin spice latte, then relax, sit back, and get ready to book shop. What’s better than that? 



FICTION





This Must Be the Place by Maggie O'Farrell 
Word lovers rejoice, because the prose in here is deliciously brilliant. Part love story, part analysis of the complexities and humor in a marriage, O'Farrell weaves a plot that you won't soon forget. You will find these characters satisfyingly flawed yet lovable. 







This little gem is must read for book lovers, bookstore lovers, and library lovers. Meet Nina, a bookmobile owner with a knack for literary matchmaking, and follow her on a journey to change lives with the power of storytelling.  A real treat for fans of Meg Donahue and Sophie Kinsella. 




                                       

Razor Girl: A Novel by Carl Hiaasen
Carl is back at it with another surreal and wickedly hilarious romp through Florida, with a cast of characters you can't imagine writing or even existing,  but they do. This is Hiaasen at his best- raunchy, brusque, and wildly entertaining. Prepare to be bent over laughing and shaking your head at the same time. 





                                        



Small Great Things: A Novel by Jody Piccoult
Picoult dares to go there with this gripping tale of power, prejudice, race, and privilege. This drama will keep you thinking and page turning, and manages to tackle tough issues with thoughtfulness and wisdom. Picoult fans may find it her best yet. 




                                       

The Perfect Girl by Gillian Macmillan
Macmillan is back at it with another gripping and twisting story that keeps us guessing until the end. Psychological suspense fans will devour this quickly, as well as anyone needing a page turner with intelligence and deeply intense character development.




                                      

The Things We Wish Were True by Marybeth Mayhew Whalen
Imagine the most idyllic neighborhood, yet up and down the street everyone is hiding something. Exploring the dark parts of suburbia and the secrets people hold, Whalen weaves a rich story of conflict and compassion. A Kindle Book Club Pick for August.



                                        



The Trespasser by Tana French
Crime novel lovers buckle up, because the latest from French will consume you whole. An Amazon "Best Book Pick" for October, The Trespasser is a brilliant whodunit, and French brings a fresh new voice to the crime drama genre that readers will delight over. 




                                      



Faithful: A Novel by Alice Hoffman
Very much a feel good story intertwined with tragedy and redemption, Faithful tells the story of a young woman making her way through the world after a difficult beginnings. Hoffman fans will appreciate another deeply moving novel, and mothers and daughters will enjoy this tale as well. 


Non-Fiction



                                            

If you miss The Carol Burnett Show like I do, do yourself a favor and get this book. Carol gives readers complete access to all the behind the scenes tales of the show, including anecdotes and hilarious stories about all of the many famous co-stars and favorite sketches which helped make The Carol Burnett Show the recipient of 25 Emmy Awards. I laughed my way through this entire book, and reminisced right along with Carol about the genius that was her show. 



                                       

If you don't know who Jenny is and you have a family to feed, than you are truly missing out. This title is a must in any family's cookbook collection, and will serve you well through the many hundreds of  must make meals you find yourself, well, having to cook. With beautiful pictures and stories between the recipes, Jenny's warmth and motherhood humor in the kitchen make her latest a delight to flip and cook through. 




                                           

Between Breaths: A Memoir of Panic and Addiction by Elizabeth Vargas
I have always been a huge fan of Vargas, and this honest story about her battle with alcoholism and anxiety has made me an even bigger fan. Told with inspiration and hope, this brave and raw memoir will have you looking at addiction through different lenses.




                                         

The Magnolia Story by Chip and Joanna Gaines
Fixer Upper fans rejoice! Here is the story of the humble beginnings of our favorite shiplap loving renovating couple, including the story of how they met, their humble beginnings, and how they became America's most loved demo day crushers. I love these people, and this book did not 
disappoint.




                                       

The Peppermint Bark Cookbook: Over 75 Recipes for Delicious Homemade Treats, from Milkshakes to Cheesecakes by Dominique DeVito
Yep, I'm going there, because Christmas is coming and peppermint bark is straight from the heavens, so why not have more of it? Includes 10 basic bark recipes (gluten free!) and then a variety of treats to make with all your bark. A great hostess gift for all your Christmas parties!












                                               














No comments: